brownie 3
Added: April 29, 2018
Adopt
View all Beagles

Brownie

Currently Available Adult Medium Male
  • Dog Friendly
  • Kid Friendly

  • Brownie


    My Story:

    I am a TBR alumni who was recently returned to the rescue when my owner could no longer care for me. I was very sad and anxious for the first several days in my foster home, but in less than a week I have settled in nicely and have shown the sweeter sides of my BIG personality!

    I LOVE to play with toys. I like to fetch them when my foster parents throw them for me....at least once or twice....before I chew them on my dog bed. I also love to sit on laps, but I am quickly learning that I need to wait to be invited up. I am also perfectly content sitting in my dog bed on the floor as long as my humans are in sight. I am a good guard dog who will bark and bay if someone comes to the door, but I quiet down once I see my foster parents treat them as a friend. I greet people without jumping on them, and I am friendly with the neighborhood dogs, cats, and kids.

    I was very spoiled in my prior home and was allowed to get away with EVERYTHING, but I am now learning how to sit, stay, lay down, leave it, and go to my "sofa" (dog bed) or "crate." However, commands are still very new to me, and I would like my future family to continue helping me learn house manners with daily "trick time" for obedience reinforcement. I will do ANYTHING for a treat!!!

    I am house-trained and will whine or pace at the door(s) in my foster home if I need to go outside. I am also crate-trained. My foster parents crate me between 9 and 5 during the work week, and I rest quietly without having an accident nor destroying anything until they come home. At night I sleep in a crate at the foot of my foster parents' bed. I will bark nonstop if I am separated from my humans at night, so I need to bed allowed to sleep in the same room as my future family. As long as I can see my humans from my crate, I will sleep quietly through the night for 8-9 hours! I am a little snappy and growly when you try to take my things away and I am not super fond of men, so my foster family thinks that I would be happiest in a female-only home and as an only pet with no children.

    Profile:

    Weight: 36 lbs Age: 6

    Good on Leash: yes Crate Trained: yes House Trained: yes
    This beagle likes:

    I love ALL kinds of treats, but especially peanut-butter-and-Greek-yogurt-filled frozen Kong toys! My foster parents usually give me one in the crate when they leave for longer periods of time. I also love chewing on a bone from the comfort of my dog bed each night.

    I enjoy playing fetch and tug-of-war with squeaky toys and rope toys! I also enjoy walks, as long as they are short.

    Medical Issues:

    I also have a mineralized disc in my spine. It normally doesn't bother me, but every once in a while it's quite painful and I take an anti inflammatory. The vet did say that I need to be kept off of stairs for the rest of my life--so as long as I can live on the first floor of your house or you carry me up and down stairs we are all good!

    Additional Photos:
    , , , , , , , ,

    Ready to Adopt?

    Welcome! You will need to fill out this application and be approved before you can adopt .

    Want to Foster with us?

    Great! We appreciate your help. Please fill out our application to apply to be a foster.